What is 5 Element Theory?

Section 3 What are the 5-elements?


 Wood Element:

  • Wood Meridians: Gallbladder and Liver
  • Emotion: Anger
  • Yearns to do,be in charge,makes rules, demands freedom, invincible
  • Values: action, challenge, uniqueness, independence, achievement  

Fire Element:

  • Fire Meridians: Heart, Small Intestine, Pericardium, and Triple Heater
  • Emotion: Joy
  • Lives in the moment, loves saying yes, desires sensation/feeling
  • Values: intimacy, spontaneity, expression, passion, merging

Earth Element:

  • Earth Meridians: Stomach and Spleen
  • Emotion: Worry
  • Being a the still point, wanting to be needed, desiring change
  • Values: relationships, stability, sharing, harmony, Loyalty

Metal Element:

  • Metal Meridians: Lung and Large Intestine
  • Emotion: Grief
  • Likes creativity, aspires toward beauty, knows what is right
  • Values: order, purity, reason, simplicity, quality, standards

Water Element:

  • Water Meridians: Bladder and Kidney
  • Emotion: Fear
  • yearns for truth, connection..yet enjoys being left alone
  • Values: Solitude, mystery, originality, privacy

previous page

next page